The Note

Written by Andrew Barrett

 

250.red

 

A thrilling novella introducing Eddie Collins, CSI

 

Have you ever had that feeling of being watched but when you turn around no ones there?

I have.

It was raining, and I was working a murder scene around midnight when that prickle ran up my spine. If I’d listened to that feeling, if I’d thought back to my past, maybe I could have prevented the terror that was to come.

Back at the office, I found a death threat on my desk.

I had no idea who sent it or why they wanted to kill me.

But I was about to find out.

I’m Eddie Collins, a CSI, and this is my story.

 

Andrew Barrett is the best-selling author of The End of Lies. This novella serves as a thrilling introduction to his Eddie Collins Series. It will appeal to fans of authors like Ian Rankin, Robert Bryndza and Kathy Reichs.

 

 

3a9b494605933207e2da4ef95168ae0d

 

Stunning Taster Read!  5 stars

 

What a fantastic introduction to Eddie Collins CSI!

Eddie Collins is working a crime scene in the dark, with the rain pelting down and something about the deceased seems familiar. When he finally returns to his desk he spends the rest of his shift trying to deal with his inbox, then he comes across a death threat which shocks him to the core. Leaving the safety of the station to return home, he ponders on whether this is something he should take seriously.

I love the character of Eddie; he appears to be a very ordinary guy who doesn’t think his job makes him some kind of god (unlike some of the forensic scientists around in the ether). He is down to earth and has a very amusing turn of phrase. I don’t think I’ve feasted on a crime read with so much pleasure for quite some time – but the amusement doesn’t take away from the serious nature of the crimes at all, it just makes Eddie Collins more human. This is a very skilfully crafted story to fit in so much in such a short space and make it so the reader wants more.

As a taster for the series, this has certainly alerted me to this author; from what I can see there are three novels and a second novella as well as another separate series and I hope to get around to reading all of them. In fact, I shall make sure of it! It’s worth mentioning that this one is FREE both in the UK and US at the moment via Amazon.

My thanks to Sarah Hardy of Bloodhound Books for alerting me to this one. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: crime thriller, forensic investigation

 

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1013 KB
  • Print Length: 51 pages
  • Publisher: Bloodhound Books
  • Publication Date: 14 June 2017
  • Purchase Links: Amazon UK
  •                                 Amazon US

 

250.red

 

Meet the Author

 

A1Wxb8q4iGL._UX250_Do you like your crime thrillers to have a forensic element that adds to the realism? Do you like your lead character to be someone intense and unafraid to take on authority?

Andrew writes precisely that kind of crime thriller, and has done since 1996, about the same time he became a CSI in Yorkshire.

He doesn’t write formulaic fiction; each story is hand-crafted to give you a unique flavour of what CSIs encounter in real life – and as a practising CSI, he should know what it’s like out there. His thrillers live inside the police domain, but predominantly feature CSIs (or SOCOs as they used to known).

Here’s your chance to walk alongside SOCO Roger Conniston and CSI Eddie Collins as they do battle with the criminals that you lock your doors to keep out, fighting those whose crimes make you shudder.

This is as real as it gets without getting your hands bloody.

Find out more about him at http://www.andrewbarrett.co.uk where you can sign up for his newsletter and claim your free starter library.

 

250.red

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Note

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s