Dead and Gone

Written by D. L. Michaels

 

250.red

 

In a world built on lies, who can you ever trust? A nail-biting thriller introducing DI Annie Parker. For fans of Angela Marsons and Tess Gerritson, Dead and Gone delivers twists at every deliciously unpredictable turn.

Paula Smith could have had it all… if it weren’t for her husband Danny who is resentful of her success and increasingly prone to alcoholic rages. She should leave him, but he knows something that could bring her whole world crashing down.

Sarah has found the kind of happiness with Martin she never thought possible. Yet, he has a secret that could threaten everything they share. But he is not the only one with a secret…

DI Annie Parker, mother, grandmother and widow, has plenty of baggage of her own, but she’s still determined to be the best police officer she can be. When she and her sergeant Nisha Patel hear about a 20-year-old murder that nobody knew about, nothing will stop them from tracking down the killer, even if it brings them up against one of the most dangerous crime families in the country.

 

 

transparent

 

Skilful, Creative and Exciting Writing!  5 stars

I like a good old-fashioned crime story – a police procedural if you will. This fits the bill, but it also has elements of a darn good psychological thriller.

Annie Parker is an old school copper, the kind who rely on gut instinct and knowing when something’s not right. As the Detective Inspector in Historic Crimes, she puts in the hours required to get to the nitty gritty of a case. Her right hand is Nisha Patel, a Detective Sergeant who knows to be thorough and leave no stone unturned. Annie also has plenty going on in her home life, all adding to her daily workload. I really hope this turns into a prolific series – that’s now much I revelled in this book.

I’m not going to give much away; the story begins by following three women, one of whom is Annie. This sets the scene for several mysteries to be solved, all wrapped up in one great big rubik’s cube type mystery, twisting one way and then the other whilst all the time your head is going round in circles whilst occasionally something ‘clicks’. The story is very realistic, you can imagine it all happening in real life terms. The writing is terrific, the plotting skilful, creative and exciting with very little happening which the reader could predict. This is an intricate tale, with none of the details beyond the realms of possibility. It’s the kind of novel where you find yourself reading ‘just a few more pages’ (several times over) with great reluctance to set it aside and yet when the end is obviously near, you wish you had rationed yourself!  D. L. Michaels is an author I shall be keenly watching out for in future. Dead and Gone is a very gripping read, and one which I’m happy to endorse and recommend.

My thanks to publishers Aria for pre-approving my requested copy via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: crime thriller, police procedural

 

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1503 KB
  • Publisher: Aria
  • Publication Date: 1 May 2018
  • Link to Buy: http://amzn.eu/eVLzs2W

 

250.red

 

Meet the Author

 

 

DL Michaels author pic_preview.jpeg

D.L. Michaels is a former award-winning TV executive, who married in Tuscany, has one teenage son and lives on an old converted farm in the Peak District. Favourite writers include Harlan Coben, Patricia Cornwell and Nicci French.

 

 

250.red

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dead and Gone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s